Give Thanks

Snow started falling early this morning, steadily came down throughout the day and has slowly turned into freezing rain.  I’ve been happily getting snowed in at the ol’ homestead, thankful that I did not have to brave a crowded and slushy commute this evening. The snow is much better enjoyed from my vantage point in my parents’ kitchen, accompanied by the scent of pies in the oven.pumpkin

It has become my own little tradition to travel home a day early to bake Thanksgiving desserts. I do my thing before my dad and the turkey take over the kitchen and the oven, respectively. I like the peacefulness of puttering around a quiet house before a holiday. It’s warm and calm, and today the snow outside makes it feel extra special in here. Tomorrow the house will be a hubbub of activity, rushing to get things done before the big meal, but tonight is calm.

cranberry pie

For this quiet evening respite, and for far too many things to list here, I am thankful.

Leave a Reply

